The Film ‘Fatwa’ Wins the Grand Prize at the Maghreb Film Festival in Oujda

Oujda’s Maghreb Film Festival, which was organized under the high patronage of HM King Mohammed VI, wrapped-up its eighth edition last weekend, notably with the Grand Prize award for the feature film “Fatwa” by Tunisian director Mahmoud ben Mahmoud.

The movie  “Cri de l’âme” by Moroccan director Abdelilah Jouahri won the Jury Prize in the official competition, in addition to the prize for Best Male Role awarded to Youssef Arabi. Actress Malika Belbey won the Best Female Performance Prize for her role in “Reconnaissance” by Algerian Salim Hamdi.

As for the feature films  which were present in the competition are namely: “Reconnaissance” by Algerian Salim Hamdi; “Cri de l’âme” by Moroccan director Abdelilah Jouahri; “Fatwa” by Tunisian Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud; “La voix des anges” by Algerian Kamal Yaich; “Porto-Farina” by Tunisian Ibrahim Letaif and “Une urgence ordinaire” by Moroccan Mohcine Besri.

As for short films, the Grand Prize was awarded to “Houria” by the Moroccan director Oussama Azzi, while “Don Quixote” by the Algerian Salim Hamdi received the prize from the National Federation of Film Clubs in Morocco. As for the Special Mention Prize of the jury, it was awarded to the Tunisian short movie “Brotherhood” by director Meryem Jebbour.

The prize for Best Director went to Ali Benjelloun for his film “Anxiety”. The Algerian film “Point zero” by Nassim Boumaiza won the prize for Best Screenplay.

Actress Fatima Ben Saidane won the Best Female Performance Award for her role in the film “Houria”, while actor Hicham Bastaoui received the Best Male Performance Award for her role in Ali Benjelloun’s short film “Angoisse”.

The eighth edition of the festival paid tribute to the Tunisian actress Fatima Ben Saidane, and to the Moroccan actors Mohammed Benkaddour and Khalid Sli.

Chaired by the Algerian critic and academic, Ahmed Bejjaoui, the jury for the feature category was composed of directors Hassan Benjelloun from Morocco, Salma Bakkar from Tunisia and Abderrahmane Lahi from Mauritania.

The jury of the short films was chaired by the Moroccan critic Bilal Marmid, with the participation of Tunisian director Anis Lassoued and Algerian directors Rachid Ben Allal and Zahra Harakat.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.