“Poissons rouges” by Abdeslam Kelaï and “Batlit” by Mohamed Zineddine in competition for Festival grants

The Malmö Arab Film Festival returns for its tenth edition, from 8-13 October, with the participation of 21 projects that will compete for development and post-production grants, which will be held for the sixth time from 9-12 October, on the sidelines of this film event. Two Moroccan films have been selected for this competition, “Poissons rouges” by Abdeslam Kelaï and “Batlit” by Mohamed Zineddine.

Projects selected for the Malmö Arab Film Festival compete for grants in 5 categories, namely Short Film Development, Feature Film Development, Documentary Development, and Post-Production Grant for Feature Films and Documentaries.

In this regard, the founder and president of the Festival, Mohamed Qablawi, said that the event will continue the activities of its market and forum, “despite the difficult conditions that the whole world is going through this year. For the Malmö Festival’s commitment to supporting Arab cinema and its ongoing efforts to build co-production bridges between the Arab world and the Nordic countries must continue whatever the circumstances”. He added that the organisation team is working around the clock to prepare the festival in the best possible way, “with full commitment to the Swedish government’s health requirements.

Knowing that the continued role of the forum and the grant programme in supporting Arab filmmakers over the years is something that cannot be discussed”.

Nineteen prizes are on the programme of grants at this year’s Malmö Film Festival, valued at $140,000. In the feature film category, the participating countries are Iraq, Jordan, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Tunisia, France, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia and the United States. For documentaries, there are Morocco, Sweden, Jordan, Palestine, the United States and France. Short films come from Yemen, Sweden, Denmark, Iraq, Jordan and France. For the films selected for post-production, they are from Tunisia, Lebanon, Germany, France, Egypt, United Kingdom, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, Sweden and Morocco.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.