Khouribga / FICAK: 12 feature films in official competition

The International African Film Festival of Khouribga (FICAK), a platform recognized as an agora of reflection on the movements of African cinema, has managed, in 43 years, to impose itself in the top of the great festivals of African cinema that has reconverted the status of the world capital of phosphate in the capital of African 7ème art. 

 Thus, the FICAK, whose first edition dates back to 1977, is considered one of the oldest film festivals in Morocco and the third African film festival on the continent after those of Fespaco and Carthage. 

 For its 23ème edition to be held from May 6 to 13 under the High Patronage of HM the King, the FICAK offers a rich set of the latest African film productions including twelve feature films representing 10 countries that will be competing for the Awards of the official competition. A first for this 23èm  edition, the FICAK launches an official competition of short films, which includes 15 short films representing Kenya, Egypt, Rwanda, Tunisia, Ghana, DRC, Ivory Coast, Burkina, Senegal, Nigeria, Uganda, Benin, then the host country, Morocco. 

 For feature films, Morocco and Cameroon, which is the guest of this 23ème edition will be represented by two films each. These are respectively “Jalaldin” by Hassan Benjelloun and “The Oasis of Frozen Waters” by Raouf Sebbahi, and “Shadrack” by Narcisse Wandji and “The Plantation of Planters” by Dingha Yellow Eystein. 

The other films in official competition are:

  • “I am chance” by Marc-Henri Wajnberg (Congo),
  • “Streams” by Mehdi Hmili (Tunisia),
  • “Epines du Sahel” by Boubakar Diallo (Burkina-Faso),
  • “Citizen kwamen” by Yuhi Amuli (Rwanda),
  • “B19” by Ahmed Abdalla (Egypt),
  • “Shimoni” by Angela Wanjikuwamai (Kenya),
  • “Le courage en plus” by Billy Touré & Laurent Chevallier (Guinea)
  •  “Maputo Nakuzandza” by Ariadine Leitão Zampaulo (Mozambique).

For the Awards, there will be the Grand Prize of the festival for the long narrative named after the Senegalese writer, director and screenwriter Ousmane Sembene, the Jury Prize in the name of Nour Eddine Saïl, the Prize for directing in the name of the Burkinabe filmmaker Idrissa Ouédraogo, the Screenplay Award to the Egyptian writer, journalist and film critic Samir Farid, the Female Leading Role Award to the Moroccan actress Amina Rachid and the Male Leading Role Award to Mohamed Bastaoui. 

 As for the cultural awards, two prizes will be awarded, namely, the “Don Quixote” Prize of Moroccan film clubs and the Critics’ Prize.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.